2018 Inaugural SAGE Awards Gala Dinner

6.30-9.00pm, 5 December 2018, Great Hall Parliament House, Canberra

Parliament House at dusk









In December this year SAGE reaches a key milestone – when 20 of Australia’s higher education and research institutions will be recognised for their progress in addressing gender inequity and supporting greater diversity and inclusion.

The Athena SWAN Bronze Institutional Awards will be conferred by the Hon Karen Andrews MP, Minister for Industry, Science and Technology in attendance with other Government Ministers, parliamentarians and senior government officials, as well as other dignitaries including the CEO of Advance HE (UK), Ms Alison Johns.

Ms Del Irani – award-winning journalist and TV presenter – will be our Master of Ceremonies at the Awards Dinner. Del has hosted shows on Australian and international television including ABC News, BBC World News and is currently a presenter on ABC News’ national breakfast show.

Inclusive Dress code for SAGE Awards Gala Dinner:  Business, smart or formal attire

Book your place at the Inaugural SAGE Awards Gala Dinner >>

Registration for the Awards Gala Dinner is $150 (GST inclusive) per person

Follow us @SciGenderEquity    Join the conversation on Twitter #SAGEAS2018



Parliament House Great Hall








About SAGE

The Science in Australia Gender Equity (SAGE) initiative is a joint partnership between the Australian Academy of Science and the Australian Academy of Technology and Engineering.

SAGE aims to improve participation, retention and success of women, gender minorities and diverse groups working in Science, Technology, Engineering, Mathematics and Medicine (STEMM) in higher education and research. SAGE builds on the success of the Athena SWAN Charter and its 10 principles of equality and inclusion, established and operated by the Equality Challenge Unit (UK), by adapting the Athena SWAN accreditation framework to identify and address gender inequality in Australian higher education and research institutions.

SAGE’s mission is to empower member institutions to make systematic changes within their organisations; evaluate their success through the provision of accreditation services; and engage with our members to support them during the evaluation process.