SAGE Expert Advisory Group – a sincere thank you

The SAGE Board of Management and the SAGE team would like to sincerely thank the Expert Advisory Group (EAG) for all its work, advice and assistance during 2016 to 2018. The EAG has been a fundamental and strategic source of inspiration, guidance and direction for SAGE over the last three years.

Championing SAGE

Formed in March 2016, the EAG provided expert strategic and gender equity advice to SAGE Management Board and Executive Director, supporting a successful implementation and evaluation of the SAGE Pilot of the Athena SWAN Charter.

As well as championing the SAGE initiative, the EAG informed the implementation of the SAGE Pilot, particularly advising on core material resources including guidance, peer review and importantly the independent evaluation of SAGE and the design of a data framework for impact assessment.

With the majority of SAGE Pilot milestones falling within the EAG terms of reference, these also benefitted substantially from its advice and guidance.

Significant achievements

At its last meeting, the EAG recognised the significant achievements and progress to date of SAGE, and the EAG’s role in this, agreeing that the Group had delivered on its objectives.

Summing up, the SAGE Board of Management and the Presidents of the two Academies, the Australian Academy of Science and the Australian Academy of Technology and Engineering, said: “The EAG has served SAGE well at critical foundation stages and succeeded in galvanising support, maintaining momentum and keeping the establishment of a Pilot on track – the outcome is a significant Pilot that has attracted attention of Government and engaged a large percentage of the higher education and research institutions.”

Thank you

SAGE sincerely thanks the former EAG members for their work, input and guidance to the Athena SWAN Pilot.

Thank you to:
• Elizabeth Broderick AO FTSE (Chair)
• Professor Caroline McMillen
• Professor Doug Hilton AO FAA FTSE
• Professor Ian Jacobs
• Professor Nalini Joshi AO FAA
• Sarah Dickinson Hyams
• Dr Marguerite Evans-Galea
• Anne-Marie Lansdown
• Professor Timothy Wess FRSA PFHEA FRSB FRSB
• Professor Sharon Bell
• Dr Rosalind Prinsley

SAGE EAG completed its mission in August 2018.

SAGE Expert Advisory Group profiles.