Australia Needs Women in Science Leadership

In September 2015, the SAGE Pilot was launched in Parliament House, Canberra. The event was attended by Ministers, representatives from research funding and policy sectors, and representatives from the 32 universities and research institutions participating in the SAGE Pilot. The event included a panel discussion on why Australia needs women in science leadership. Below is a transcript of the discussion and audience questions.

Panel Members

Professor Nalini Joshi FAA FRSN, SAGE Committee Co-Chair, University of Sydney, Former Australian Academy Council Member and Georgina Sweet Australian Laureate Fellow

Dr Maggie Evans-Galea, SAGE Committee Member, Murdoch Children’s Research Institute, Co-Founder Women in Science Australia

Professor Sharon Bell, SAGE Committee Member, Deputy Vice Chancellor, Charles Darwin University


Ms Lyndal Curtis, Canberra Bureau Chief, Sky News Read more